Nigel Ashton is elected as the new Meols Ward councillor

Nigel Ashton has been elected as the new local councillor for Southport's Meols Ward, which covers Churchtown, Crossens and Marshside. Nigel replaces David Tattersall, who has retired as a councillor.

The full result, which was declared on Friday afternoon at the Southport count at Dunes Leisure Centre is:

Nigel Ashton, Liberal Democrat   1,211
Conservative                                1,136
Labour                                             711
Southport Party                               628
UKIP                                                 278

The results for every ward in Sefton are available on the Council's website.