Who is running Sefton Council?

For the past three years, Sefton Council has been controlled by a seven-person Cabinet consisting entirely of Labour Councillors from Bootle. Opposition and backbench councillors can question and make representations to these people on local residents behalf - but they have no power to over rule them. 21 of the 66 Sefton Councillors are elected from Southport. Of these Southport councillors, 16 are presently Liberal Democrats and 5 are Conservatives. There are three councillors in each council ward. Because of the financial situation of the Council, the Lib Dems proposed to reduce this to two but this is opposed by the Labour bosses. A third of the councillors are elected every year for a 4-year term.